Home News School News

It is with great sadness that I inform you that Mr Murray Grindrod, Chairman of the Board of Governors from 1984 to 1991, passed away peacefully on Saturday morning.   Murray was a great servant of this school and we extend our sincere condolences to the Grindrod family.

Last week I wrote to you about the new immigration regulations which come into effect on 1 June 2015. If you have not read this letter, please could I ask you to do so because it affects anyone travelling out of the country with children under the age of 18. I am still seeking clarity on certain aspects of these regulations but I will keep you informed should I have anything further to report.

This week we offer scholarships and places to our successful 2016 applicants. This is a stressful time for our prospective new boys and their parents because we are not in a position to offer places to all of those who applied. However, we hope that those who really want to be at Hilton will be accommodated and we look forward to welcoming them into the Hilton Family next year.

On Saturday evening, our Grade 11 Dramatic Art students performed at the opening performance of the 2015 Schools' Funk programme. Boys and girls from thirteen local schools are performing their choreographed dance routines in this Funk programme which takes place in our Theatre.   I wish our boys all the very best for their remaining performances tonight, tomorrow night and on Wednesday evening this week.

Our Matric Art students will be displaying their work at St Anne's later this week as part of the combined Hilton College and St Anne's Matric Art Exhibition. This exhibition, in the St Anne's Sports Centre, will be opened at 18:00 on Wednesday evening.

As we approach our midterm break, I remind you that we have three lessons on Thursday morning. Boys may only leave school after classes have ended at 10.00am as indicated in the school calendar. Please could I ask that if you are booking flights for your son to fly home from King Shaka airport in Durban, these should not be booked for flights that depart less than three hours after school closes. We allow two hours for travelling from Hilton and one hour for check-in. This means that no flights should be booked to depart from King Shaka earlier than 13:00 on Thursday. For flights out of Oribi airport in Pietermaritzburg, please allow one and a half hours (ie. no flights departing before 11:30). I thank you, in advance, for your co-operation in this regard.

I wish you all a very happy and restful mid-term break.

Peter Ducasse


On Friday last week our English Department hosted a highly successful English teachers' conference here at Hilton. Over 140 teachers from schools across the country attended this conference and the feedback that I have received has been extremely complimentary. I thank our Head of English, Kathleen Schroeder, and all the other members of staff who presented or assisted with the organization of this conference. It is, I believe, critically important that Hilton College contributes positively toward the improvement of education in our country, and I am proud to say that it is through activities such as this English conference, the Mathematics Experience organized by our Mathematics Department last week, as well as our VULA programme, which assists Mathematics and Science teachers and pupils from disadvantaged schools, that this is being achieved.

Paul de Wet, our Second Master and Director of Academics, will be away from school from today until the mid-term break. He will be in Johannesburg participating in a Leadership Development Programme run by the Wits Business School and I wish him all the very best. I know that we will all benefit from what he learns and brings back to Hilton from this course.

One of the cornerstones of a Hilton College education, is the development of sound values. Our core school values are: Honesty, Courage, Accountability, Respect, Compassion, Humility and Integrity. In Chapel on Sunday, Rev Richard Wyngaard delivered a very meaningful sermon on the importance of honesty, accountability and integrity in our lives. He used the opportunity to tackle the thorny teenage issue of lying to protect others. He explained that lying to protect others not only negatively impacts one's own integrity but also the person that one was trying to protect.  

Pease note that all of our rugby and hockey matches this coming Saturday (16 May) will be played in Durban. Unfortunately, owing to the fact that Clifton College does not have its own sports fields, the venues and times for these matches are rather complicated. There is more than one venue and the first team matches will be played earlier than normal, so please read the Sports Newsletter and arrangements from Shane Gaffney very carefully, to avoid disappointment

(click here to read Shane's Sports Newsletter).

Please can I remind you to confirm your son's travel arrangements for the mid-term break which, believe it or not, is now just over a week away.

I also take this opportunity to wish all of our mums a belated happy Mother's Day. I sincerely hope that you had a very special day.

Kind regards,

Peter Ducasse



43 Lucas boys took part in the first outreach excursions to the SOS Village (PMB) and Ndabezinhle Creche (Hilton).

Read more...


43 Lucas boys took part in the first outreach excursions to the SOS Village (PMB) and Ndabezinhle Creche (Hilton).

Read more...

More Articles...

The Fleur de Lys Magazine is a quarterly publication which sums up the important activities and news from the preceding term. It is available here in PDF format.